A ‘BRÅVES’ New World

I remember as a teenager my love for music was number one. I lived and breathed for music; that feeling I get is what I lived for, when I found a new song or a new band that I connected to on a personal level was extraordinary. As Facebook likes to remind us day to day of what we use to be on social media, I sometimes flick through and every status I ever wrote on Facebook between the years 2008 through to around 2013 was heavily based on music whether it be new finds or just expressing my love for a certain band.  It is quite a nostalgic feeling when you see the songs you loved 10 years ago and thinking,  ‘what ever happened to my devotion to music discovery and worship and when did that pass?’

These days I find that I have to be in the mood to new band discovery and not constantly consciously looking every time I was on a computer. I do wish I still had my hound skills when it came to new finds; I use to know all the indie blogs that posted new artists daily and I would forever be jotting them down and finding them to download. I felt like I wanted to be that kid that’s playlist was filled with artists you never heard of and would never heard of. Nevertheless, I still manage to come across amazing songs and artists, most by accident, because it seems like you find the best things when you aren’t looking.

About a month ago I stumbled across a band called BRÅVES, a 3 piece band from LA, I think, but keep their identities under wraps. In a world full of imagery and standards I believe that these guys have got the right idea with hidden identities, because it becomes all about the music and not what they look like. I find that, and I am guilty of this too, that we judge music by appearance, and I’m not saying that is wrong because sometimes an artists image enhances their music and the message they are sending. I guess in a way BRÅVES does that with their mystery persona. Atwood Magazine describes this in the best way writing…

Little is known about Los Angeles-based BRÅVES; like so many before them, the trio use online anonymity to their advantage, forcing their SoundCloud audience to focus on the music. To their credit, many people are listening: In a week’s time, BRÅVES’ new single “Dust” has amassed over 69,000 listens. It’s a very impressive feat for a group with less than 100 “likes” on Facebook.

So, I came across BRÅVES when searching through ‘related artists’ on Spotify, pretty muc the only way I find new artists now days. I gave their song A Toast a listen and my mind was blown! I haven’t felt that feeling from a new discovery since I discovered Banks in 2013. The lyrics was what made me all emotional because at that point in time I was experiencing feelings the song depicts. As well as the beautiful melody of big beating drums and synths I was caught hook, line and sinker.

When I come across a song that makes me feel like that I often become skeptical to whether I should dig deeper into the artist catalogue or just avoid possible disappointment, as it has happened before. So I made the decision to dig and realised I came across a real gem! I could relate to their songs and felt emotional through it all, which is an amazing feeling. It almost feels like the artist is writing for you and taking you on a journey to inner workings of your mind and soul that you never knew were there. Magical, absolutely magical.

I gave you my shelter, I gave you my key
But you’re Heltor Skeltor, Sex on two feet
Will you be waiting, waiting for me?

I mean these lyrics are the opening to this song and I was instantly connected as this was a beautiful way of saying how I felt at the time. It interpreted my situation where I was in love with this guy who I gave my all to, but what I got was a false hope for a future. I mean this situation happened over a year ago but getting over it has the toughest thing I had ever endured. But when I heard this song I was like ” This is everything I have been feeling, everything I want to say” and my new found devotion to this song, this artist and their work is like a thank you.

This is a reason why I devoted my whole teenage years to music, I will admit I was a music emo, I am proud of that. In a world with so many of these negative things and stresses and just bad vibes, finding that something to allow you to escape in a mental way for minutes, hours, days, it’s beautiful and such an amazing feeling.

So this is a toast to you, BRÅVES!

You can listen to BRÅVES songs on Spotify, Soundcloud and Youtube. Also give them a like on Facebook!

Tell us your thoughts on this song, this band; or tell us your favourite artists or songs you connect with. Have you or are you emotionally involved with music?

Leave a comment